## East Ayrshire Council

## **Declaration of Results**

This report is the Declaration of Results script for Returning Officer.

**Contest Name** 

Ward 9 - Doon Valley

I will now declare the result of the election in the Ward 9 - Doon Valley. There are 3 Councillors to be elected.

The electorate was 8,932 and the number of ballot papers received was 3,925 giving a percentage turnout of 43.9%. There were 59 rejected ballot papers. The quota of votes for a candidate to be elected was 967.

The number of first preference votes for each of the candidates was:

Candidate Name	Affiliation	Number of First Preference Votes
John BELL	Independent	311
Drew FILSON	Independent	1,077
Samantha HAINEY	Scottish Conservative and Unionist	644
Murray HENDRIE	Independent	137
Jennifer HOGG	Scottish National Party (SNP)	803
Elaine STEWART	Scottish Labour Party	894
	Total	3.866

After application of the Election Rules, I declare that the following are elected as Councillors for the Ward 9 - Doon Valley:

Candidate Name	Affiliation	Stage at which Candidate was Elected
Drew FILSON	Independent	1
Jennifer HOGG	Scottish National Party (SNP)	6
Elaine STEWART	Scottish Labour Party	3

## East Ayrshire Council

## **Declaration of Results**

This report is the Declaration of Results script for Returning Officer.

Of the total ballot papers, the following were rejected and not counted on account of:

2011 Order Rule 44(1)	Adjudication Rejection Reason	Number
(a)	Which does not bear a unique identifying mark in a form that is capable of being read by electronic means	0
(b)	On which a number standing alone is not placed so as to indicate a first preference for some candidate	12
(c)	On which the figure "1" standing alone indicating a first preference is set opposite the name of more than one candidate	43
(d)	On which anything is written or marked by which the voter can be identified except the printed number and other unique identifying mark on the back	0
(e)	Which is unmarked or void for uncertainty	4
	Total	59